Home

gods_plan_for_me_postcards_package_of_8

 

Looking into the Word

Psalm 139:13-18 (NIV)

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a]God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Ephesians 1:7-12 (NIV)

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the richesof God’s grace that he lavished on us. With all wisdom and understanding, he[d] made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, 10 to be put into effect when the times reach their fulfillment—to bring unity to all things in heaven and on earth under Christ.

11 In him we were also chosen,[e] having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, 12 in order that we, who were the first to put our hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.

Looking into my Life

1. What could God be thinking about me? Are they negative thoughts? Are they thoughts of how to strengthen me, to encourage me, to provide for me, to discipline me or to restore me?

- I am chosen by God. Before I was even born, He already had the concept of me in my mind. Honestly, this is very hard to comprehend, for a human being. God understands me because He created me. His plans for me are perfect and my future is secure in Him. All I have to do is to be faithful to Him. He doesn’t want to harm me in one way or another.

2. Based on the scripture reading, how does God regard me?

God regards me as someone special. He has a plan for my life, a special purpose. I did not come out of this world for nothing. As the Switchfoot song says, I am “meant to live for so much more”.

3. God loves me so much to plan for me and die for me to secure my future. Do I really take God seriously to consider His plan for me?

There are certain aspects of my life that I have not completely surrendered to Him. It takes quite a while to fully give it all in to God. However, His loves compels me to give everything to Him. Right now, I completely accept His plan for my life.

4. Are my present plans aligned with God’s plans for me?

Basing the answer with my current life decisions, I can say that my present plans are aligned with God’s plan for me.

5. Are the people I associate with help me achieve God’s plan or they pull me away from what God wants for me?

I can say that the important people in my life helps me achieve God’s plans for me. Most of them are Christians so, they help me carry out His plans.

6. Part of God’s plan is to display His glory through my life (Ephesians 2:10). Have I declared His glory lately through my words and actions?

There are times when I am able to display His glory through my life. I think social media can be a good medium in doing that. However, there are certain times when I act rashly and say/type-in words that are not pleasing for a Christian to say. I need to work out more on that one.

Looking out

1. Vision enables me to go beyond the mediocrity (being average) of doing things the same old way. What areas of my life do I need to excel in more? 

I need to work out more with my time management, prioritizing and speech. There are times when my motivations are also not aligned with His will. The Internet can also cause a huge distraction in my life. I should filter out the sites that are just there to waste my time.

2. Do I make my age an excuse not to strive harder to pursue God’s plan? (List down the excuses you give God and ask Him to change your heart.)

I think most of the excuse that people give, against pursuing God’s plan in their life, is not just the age but the ‘inevitable priorities’ of the certain bracket they are in. For example, a student can say that he has no time for God because of his studies or a housewife because of the household chores.

In my life, I always tell God that I am up to other things, usually watching some 2-hour movie or a 20-minute anime, straight. I know that God doesn’t deserve those excuses.

Lord, I pray that Your plans for my life will come true. I know that they will, depending on the choices that I make. Lord, I pray that this week, I will be consistent in doing this devotion and also in ministering to the people whom You have entrusted me to. Thank you Lord.

Leave a Reply

